L.A. Area Chamber Presents the Stanley T. Olafson Award at Annual World Trade Week Luncheon

May 19, 2009 12:00 pm

LOS ANGELES, CA – The Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce today presented Carol Rowen, Founder and CEO of International Trade Education Programs, Inc. with the prestigious Stanley T. Olafson award at the Foreign Trade Association’s World Trade Week luncheon at the Biltmore Hotel.

The Stanley T. Olafson award is given to those who have greatly contributed to the advancement of world trade above and beyond job requirements. The award has been bestowed on members of the Southern California international trade community for 75 years, and is named after former L.A. Area Chamber International Trade manager Stanley T. Olafson. Olafson helped conceive of World Trade Week in 1926, which was declared a national observance in 1935.

“Carol Rowen is a longtime community activist and businesswoman in Los Angeles and we are delighted to present her with this distinguished award,” said Chamber President & CEO Gary Toebben. “Carol’s efforts to prepare disadvantaged youth for careers in international trade are testament to her commitment to this cause, which benefits businesses and the economy in our region.”

As chief executive of International Trade Education Programs, Inc., Rowen is responsible for overseeing the operations of a nonprofit corporation dedicated to preparing economically disadvantaged, at-risk high school students for careers in international trade, transportation and logistics.

Rowen served as a Los Angeles Harbor Commissioner for eight years, and is a member of the Propeller Club, Women in International Trade, Women’s Transportation Seminar; Foreign Trade Association; Board of Directors of the Harbor Association of Industry and Commerce, Los Angeles Economic Development Corp. Board of Governors and Board of the International Committee (WTCA LA/LB), the California Transportation and Logistics Institute and Chair of the World Trade Week Education committee of the L.A. Area Chamber.

Past Stanley T. Olafson award recipients include Carlos Valderrama, Musick Peeler & Garrett; Captain Karsten Lemke, FuturePorts; Leslie Cazas, Nissan North America; Marianne Venieris, Center for International Trade & Transportation; and Marian Duntley, Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc.

# # #

Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories

Gwen Oldham, 213.580.7532
Alejandro Guzmán, 213.580.7544