News / Press Release

Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce Announces 2017 Council Leadership

LOS ANGELES, CA — This week, the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce announced its 2017 slate of public policy and industry council leaders. The Chamber's councils meet on average six to nine times each year to discuss issues affecting the business community and L.A. County. The Councils make recommendations to the Chamber's Executive Committee on important issues, including ballot measures. Council meetings are open to all Chamber members. 

2017 Public Policy & Industry Council Leadership:

Education & Workforce Development

Chair: Deane Leavenworth, Charter Communications

Vice Chairs:

Denita Willoughby, Southern California Gas Company

Tamika Lang, The Boeing Co.


Energy, Water & Environmental Sustainability

Chair: Brissa Sotelo-Vargas, Tesoro Refining & Marketing, Los Angeles

Vice Chairs

Ron Gastelum, Water Conservation Partners – Water Policy Chair

Thomas McHenry, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Ken Chawkins, Southern California Gas Company

Noah Perch, Glaser Weil


Global Initiatives

Chair: Lisa Greer Quateman, Polsinelli, LLP

International Trade Policy Vice Chair: Brian Peck, Transnational Law & Business Center, USC Gould School of Law

Diplomatic & Commercial Officers Group Chair: Hon. Hans Joerg Neumann, Consulate General of the Federal Republic of Germany

Diplomatic & Commercial Officers Group Vice Chair: Amb. Lamia Mekhemar, Consulate General of Egypt


Government & Fiscal Affairs (Ad Hoc)

Chair: Phil Recht, Mayer Brown, LLP


Health Care

Chair: Augustavia Haydel, L.A. Care Health Plan

Vice Chairs

Ellen Zaman, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles

James Garrison, Pacific Federal Insurance Corporation

Marty Gallegos, Hospital Association of Southern California

Jeff Shapiro, The Walt Disney Company


Innovation & Technology

Chair: Mike Silacci, AT&T

Vice Chairs

Eugene Chi, Microsoft Corporation

Hilary Baker, California State University, Northridge



Co-Chair: John R. Shiner, Bryan Cave LLP


Land Use, Housing & Construction

Chair: Edward Casey, Alston & Bird LLP  


Vice Chairs

Phil Tate, Kilroy Realty

Dennis Rodriguez, Siemens Corporation

Mark DiNapoli, Suffolk Construction

Beverly Kenworthy, California Apartment Association Los Angeles    




Regina Birdsell, Center for Nonprofit Management

Holly Bachman, Mixed Roots Foundation


Small Business

Chair: Brandon Shamim, Beacon Management Group


Transportation & Goods Movement

Chair: Maureen Hayes, HNTB

Vice Chairs

Stephen Finnegan, Automobile Club of Southern California

Lupe Valdez, Union Pacific Railroad Co.

Fran Inman, Majestic Realty Corp.

Hilary Norton, F.A.S.T-Fixing Angelenos Stuck in Traffic



The Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce represents the interests of business in L.A. County. Founded in 1888, the Chamber promotes a prosperous economy and quality of life in the Los Angeles region. For more information, visit